Home Author Information
Committee Contact Us Corporate Grants
Registration Schedule Tours
Travel and Local Area Information Workshops SMC-IT Group Photo Past SMC-IT Archives
CFP Advertisment Poster

ESA James Webb Space Telescope
DARPA F6 Constellation
Orbiting Carbon Observatory
Shuttle Unity Canadian Arm
NASA Solar Probe
Phoenix Rover
Interplanetary Internet
Space Based Space Surveillance Satellite
Bimodal NTR Space Transfer Vehicle Concept
STSS-ATRR Satellite

SMC-IT 2011

Reliable Software

Autonomy & Automation

CubeSat Software

Space Cybersecurity

Robotics Software

Engineering Design Tools

Fault Management

Real-Time Embedded Systems

Machine Vision

Image Processing

Flight Computing

Novel Applications

Mission Architecture Design

Operations Technologies

Middleware Services

Knowledge Management

Integrated System Health Management

Astronaut Support IT

Science Software Applications

On-board vs Ground Computing

Space Communications

Smart Instruments

Mission Assurance IT

Software Architectures & Tools


OCTOBER 1, 2010
Call for Full Papers and Mini-Workshop Summaries

NOVEMBER 1, 2010
Author Submission Website Open

DECEMBER 31, 2010
Call for Full Papers and Mini-Workshop Summaries

MARCH 20, 2011
Author Acceptance Notification

MAY 19, 2011
Early Bird Registration Opens

MAY 19, 2011
Preliminary Program Announced

MAY 20, 2011
Camera Ready Manuscripts Due (incorporating reviewer comments) for upload to the IEEE CPS website

JULY 1, 2011
Regular Registration Opens

AUGUST 2 - 4, 2011

(August 5, 2011)

USGS, Menlo Park Tour


NASA Ames Research Center Tour


Computer History Museum


Intel Museum (on your own)
Intel Museum


Hiller Aviation Museum

Ames Wind TunnelCrowne Plaza Cabana HotelComputer-History-MuseumAmes Pleiades SupercomputerIntel 80 Core Teraflops Research Wafer
NOTE: To receive future announcements, please send a blank email to:


Fourth IEEE International Conference on
Space Mission Challenges for Information Technology

Keynote Presentation

William BoruckiWilliam Borucki
Principal Investigator, Kepler Mission
NASA Ames Research Center, USA


Kepler is a Discovery-class mission designed to determine the frequency of Earth-size planets in and near the habitable zone (HZ) of solar-type stars. Analysis of current Kepler observations show the presence of over 1200 candidate planets, 2200 eclipsing binary stars, and variable stars of amazing variety. Most of the planetary candidates are smaller than Neptune. Several candidates are found in the habitable zone of the host stars.


William Borucki is a space scientist at the NASA Ames Research Center in Mountain View, California. He received a MSc in physics from the University of Wisconsin in 1962 and then moved to NASA Ames where he first worked on the development of the heat shield for the Apollo Mission in the Hypersonic Free Flight Branch. After the successful Moon landings, he transferred to the Theoretical Studies Branch where he investigated lightning activity in planetary atmospheres and developed mathematical models to predict the effects of nitric oxides and chlorofluoromethanes on the Earth’s ozone layer. In 1984, he began advocating the development of a space mission that could detect Earth-size planets and determine the frequency of Earth-size planets in the habitable zone of Sun-like stars. In the succeeding years he developed the techniques required to find such small planets and showed that the technology and analysis techniques were sufficiently mature to proceed to flight status.  Currently he is the Science Principal Investigator for the Kepler Mission that is designed to determine the frequency of terrestrial planets orbiting in and near the habitable zones of other stars. The Mission uses transit photometry to monitor over 150,000 stars, was launched on March 6, 2009, and is now in the science operations phase. Based on the first four months of observations, 15 planets have been confirmed and an additional 1200 planetary candidates have been discovered.

His awards include; NASA’s Outstanding Leadership Medal, 2009 Popular Mechanics Breakthrough Award, NASA 2010 Systems Engineering Excellence Award, and the 2011 Lancelot M. Berkeley Prize for Meritorious Work in Astronomy.